Time for some fresh Air by Kotobukiya

Wow, it’s been quite some time since I last posted.    Late January I did manage to take some pictures but have been sitting on them for nearly 2 months.  Can’t say I haven’t had the time but not sure if I’ve been motivated.  Another reason may be that the bulb I used in my lamp suddenly gave out and I sent it back to the company but have yet to hear anything from them.  It’s a Sylvania bulb and supposedly carried a two year warranty.  I only had the bulb a few months and since I had the packaging and receipt, I decided to take them up on their warranty.  It’s been a couple weeks now but I’ve yet to get any response.

Despite the lack of lighting, time or motivation the figures have just kept pouring in, so before I get too backed up in the review department I’ve decided to post during my sick day as aI rest at home.  These pictures were taken with the Sylvania bulb before it died.  I wasn’t 100% pleased with them but that might be the perfectionist in me.

AIR

Before buying this figure all I knew was the art.  All I knew was the art was on point, reminds me of NitroPlus art style.  Then learning that the figure was being done by Kotobukiya was just the final selling point.  It’s supposed to be limited edition or something but I doubt it will actually be limited in quantity.

AIR (1)

AIR (3)AIR (8)AIR (4)

There’s no cast off process for this figure.  While it might have been a nice addition, it’s not necessary.  Cleavage is on display and the backside is exposed but sparingly covered.  It’s a lovely pose and nicely executed.  Air is displayed leaning against an airbrush for support.  There is a little guy at the end of the air brush which may be an ink well of sorts I assume.

AIR (10)AIR (16)AIR (9)

AIR (19)

The only issue with this figure would have to be the hair.  The hair looks like it was just tacked on beneath the ears.  It just doesn’t blend in well with the rest of the head of hair.  Other have mentioned this in their reviews as well and I didn’t really know what they were referring to before I opened mine.  It’s a nice beauty of a figure and is a great addition to any collection.
AIR (7)

One of the great things about this figure is the creation process which was involved.  The entire process was recorded and aired on Japanese television.  The videos can be found on youtube. There are 9 episodes total, the first of which can be found here.  Finding the remaining 8 video is simple, just do a youtube search.

One thought on “Time for some fresh Air by Kotobukiya”

  1. Ive seen the videos before and its really interesting to see how a figure was made.As far as i can remember shes uite an exclusive figure! Congratulations for findin her

Leave a comment