This is how NegativeZero figures…

Figures…Perfect in Proportion, Pose and Profile.

Capcom’s Darkstalkers Graphic File by Udon

Posted by zerofigures on January 26, 2009

Just got this book in after nearly a years wait.  I placed my order for this book through Amazon.com on April 7, 2008.  After multiple emails updating me that of released date being pushed back, my order didn’t ship until January 14th, 2009.   If that does show my dedication to this book, then I don’t know what does.

Morrigan Felicia Art

As a long time video game fan and a lover of 2D fighters when this book was announced I knew I had to have it.  I knew very little about what the book would contain but that didn’t matter as it mentioned it would include artwork collected from the Darkstalkers/Vampire Savior series.

At first glance of the Darkstalker’s Graphic File, expecting and a book full of art, I was disappointed to find out that it was not so.  Out of 140 pages it only gives about 23 pages dedicated to the art itself.  I felt quite ripped off immediately.  There are however very detailed biographies through out the book which do provide additional art.  You can also think of it as a game guide since it provides the move lists for the characters.  All Darkstalkers/Vampire Savior games for all systems are listed in the back noting every character and what game they have appeared in.

Art IMArt figure section

This book isn’t really a reader, but instead you should enjoy the art, concepts and ideas.  There’s really nothing to do but appreciate the information which is presented to you and seek to enlighten yourself with things about the series you didn’t know.  I enjoyed the art for Dee, a character I knew nothing about before getting the book.  It’s great to learn about the characters and history behind the games.  There’s even a small section dedicated to figures.

My favorite fighting game company has always been Capcom,  giving us such series as Street Fighter, Rival Schools, Darkstalkers (Vampire Savior), and the VS series kept me indoors (arcade or home) for hours.  Many of those games complete my collection today.  I’ve always been a fan of Capcoms artwork regarding their fighting games and always jump at owning any of it as part of my collection.  I already own Udon’s Art of Capcom book and as a former comic book collector, I enjoy Udon’s work.  Just recently purchased the new Street Fighter Legends Chun Li and I’ve even picked up their trade paper backs (TPB) of the Street Fighter series.

The current generation of fighting games is great (Tecmo, Namco, etc. ), but it’s really nothing like the ones I grew up with.  I remember playing those Capcom fighters in the arcade for hours on end.  Then later, once the game was released for home consoles, like the Sega Saturn, playing an arcade perfect translation for even more hours.  This is a great piece of nostalgia for any fan of the series or capcom.  I have no doubt that there will be some facts in this book that fans will find interesting and fun.

2 Responses to “Capcom’s Darkstalkers Graphic File by Udon”

  1. turok said

    please scan and share it!!! some of us cant buy it from amazon, not shipping to some countries 😦

    • zerofigures said

      As much as I’d love to, I don’t have a scanner and I think that scanning might cause me to damage the spine (I’m not familiar with how many get scanning done)

Leave a Reply

 
