This is how NegativeZero figures…

Figures…Perfect in Proportion, Pose and Profile.

Satoshi Kon R.I.P

Posted by zerofigures on August 25, 2010

It wasn’t very long ago that I was able to attend a preview of Paprika thanks to NewYork-Tokyo and able to experience the magic that was Satoshi Kon.  The beautiful art led to do more research on Satoshi and learn that many of his films were considered classics.  While there are many works, considered to be classics,  that I have never seen, I felt a need to see more of his work specifically.

Some of his work includes Paprika, Perfect Blue, Millennium Actress, Paranoia Agent and my favorite Tokyo Godfathers.  I’m sure that his influence on Japanese animation will be a long lasting one.   I am happy to have been exposed to his work and am saddened to hear of his passing.

His movies are so easily recommendable as Paprika is bizarre, that you would be losing out if you didn’t see them.  At the time of his passing, Satoshi Kon was working on “The Dreaming Machine”.  I can’t help but wonder what will happen with that now.

Leave a Reply

 
